International Short Film Jury 2021

Basim Magdy
artist / Egypt
Through subtle humor, psychedelic plays of colour and fancifully elaborate titles, Basim Magdy creates surreal worlds and narratives. His work includes film, photography, painting, works on paper, and installations. Magdy has shown his films at Tate Modern, Locarno Film Festival, New York Film Festival and IFFR Rotterdam, to name a few. He has had solo and group shows all over the world, and his works are in the collections of MoMa, Guggenheim, Centre Pompidou, the Sharjah Art Foundation and Koç Foundation Collection (ARTER), amongst others. He was selected Artist of the Year by Deutsche Bank and won the New:Vision Award of the CPH:DOX, the Curtas Vila do Conde Experimental Film Award and the Abraaj Art Prize Dubai.

Photo © Jens Koch

Christine A. Maier
cinematographer / Austria

Christine A. Maier’s cinematography has been featured at the Berlinale in films by Henner Winckler, Amie Siegel, Jamie Babbit and Jasmila Žbanić, whose film Grbavica won the Golden Bear in 2006. Quo vadis, Aida?, her most recent cooperation with Žbanić, which has already received multiple awards, celebrated its premiere in 2020 in the competition at the Venice International Film Festival. Venice is also where Maier’s career began 23 years ago, with her first feature-length fiction film Northern Skirts, directed by Barbara Albert. Just two years later, she was awarded the Österreichischer Förderpreis für Filmkunst. In 2018, she received the Austrian Film Award for Best Camera for Mademoiselle Paradis by Barbara Albert. In 2020, she was honoured with the FC Gloria Award and the Berlin Academy of the Arts Award for Film and Media Art.

Photo © Jens Koch

Sebastian Urzendowsky
actor / Germany

Having already performed in numerous films as a child, Sebastian Urzendowsky received international attention with Pingpong by Matthias Luthardt, which celebrated its premiere at Semaine de la Critique in Cannes. International productions followed, for example The Way back by Peter Weir, Un amour de jeunesse by Mia-Hansen Løve, oscar-winner The Counterfeiters by Stefan Ruzowitzky (Berlinale Competition 2007) and Jessica Forever (Panorama 2019) by Caroline Poggi and Jonathan Vinel, who had won the Golden Bear of Berlinale Shorts in 2014. In 2017 he was awarded with his second Grimme Award for his outstanding performance in Mitten in Deutschland: NSU – Die Täter by Christian Schwochow.

Photo © Jens Koch

The International Short Film Jury awards the following Prizes:

  • Golden Bear for Best Short Film (the winner of the Golden Bear qualifies for being eligible for next year’s short film Oscar)
  • Silver Bear Jury Prize (Short Film)
  • Berlin Short Film Candidate for the European Film Awards (the winning film is the Berlin candidate for the category “European Short Film”)


The International Short Film Jury 2021 introducing each other and sharing their thoughts on
Easter Eggs by Nicolas Keppens, Strange Object by Mirande Pennell, Zonder Meer by Meltse Van Coillie, Xia Wu Guo Qu Le Yi Ban by Zhang Dalei, Nanu Tudor by Olga Lucovnicova


The International Short Film Jury 2021 announcing the Candidate for the European Film Awards, the Silver Bear Jury Prize and the Golden Bear for Best Short Film

Kommentar verfassen

Trage deine Daten unten ein oder klicke ein Icon um dich einzuloggen:

Du kommentierst mit Deinem Abmelden /  Ändern )


Du kommentierst mit Deinem Twitter-Konto. Abmelden /  Ändern )


Du kommentierst mit Deinem Facebook-Konto. Abmelden /  Ändern )

Verbinde mit %s

Diese Seite verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden..