jury 2013

Berlinale 2013 - Kurzfilmwettbewerb

Susanne Pfeffer, Dieter Kosslick, Hong Hyosook, Javier Fesser © Heinrich Völkel

The Golden and Silver Bears for Best Short Film will be presented at the Award Ceremony in the Berlinale Palast on Saturday, February 16, 2013. This year’s members of the International Short Film Jury are quite diverse: Spanish director Javier Fesser, Korean programmer and director of the Asian Film Fund Hong Hyosook, and German curator Susanne Pfeffer:

Spanish director Javier Fesser’s film career began with a bang: Both of his first works, Aquel Ritmillo(1995) and El Secdleto de la Tlompeta(1996) are still the two most often awarded Spanish short films of all time. His comedies P. Tinto’s Miracle (1998) and Clever & Smart (2003) were box office hits in Spain. His short film Binta y la gran idea was nominated for an Oscar in 2007. With Camino (2008), a film about Opus Dei, Javier Fesser switched to drama, creating a film that sparked international controversy and won six Goya Awards, among other distinctions. Javier Fesser is currently working on a 3D sequel to Clever & Smart.

Hong Hyosook was one of the founders of the Women Film Group and represents the Seoul Visual Collective. As a documentary cinematographer, her works include Doomealee, A New School is Opening (1995), On-Line: An Inside View of Korean Independent Film(1997, Berlinale Forum 1998), and Reclaiming Our Names (1998) which were presented at numerous international film festivals. In 1997 she started to work at the Busan International Film Festival, where she currently is curator of the “Wide Angle” section, Documentary and Short Films, and Director of the Asian Cinema Fund (ACF).

Art historian Susanne Pfeffer works internationally as a freelance curator. From 2007 to 2012 she was chief curator at the KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin, as well as a curator and advisor for MOMA PS1 in New York. From 2004 to 2006 she was artistic director at Künstlerhaus Bremen. She has also been a guest curator for the São Paulo Art Biennial, the Museum Boijmans Van Beuningen, the Museum of Modern Art in Warsaw and the Museion Bozen, among others. Susanne Pfeffer has been the editor of numerous artist monographs and exhibition catalogues. In 2009 she was honoured by the AICA USA with an award for her exhibition “Kenneth Anger”.

Kommentar verfassen

Trage deine Daten unten ein oder klicke ein Icon um dich einzuloggen:


Du kommentierst mit Deinem WordPress.com-Konto. Abmelden /  Ändern )


Du kommentierst mit Deinem Twitter-Konto. Abmelden /  Ändern )


Du kommentierst mit Deinem Facebook-Konto. Abmelden /  Ändern )

Verbinde mit %s

Diese Seite verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden..